Blog Image


Details of the new Government

Home Insights Details of the new Government

Published on:

Published on: November 02, 2020


Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern today at 1pm announced her new Ministerial line-up. A summary of new Ministers, Ministers outside Cabinet and key points in the Labour/Green co-operation agreement is set out below, and you can view a table here detailing the full new Government, including all changes from the previous Government.

Key details relating to the new executive:

  • The new executive will be sworn in by the Governor-General this Friday.
  • ​The New Deputy Prime Minister will be Hon Grant Robertson.
  • ​Deputy Leader of the Labour Party Kelvin Davis ruled himself out of being Deputy Prime Minister. However, he will continue to be Deputy Leader of the Labour Party.
  • New additions to Cabinet include:

    • Hon Peeni Henare;

    • Hon Willie Jackson;

    • Jan Tinetti [new Minister];

    • Michael Wood [new Minister];

    • Kiri Allan [new Minister];

    • Hon Dr David Clark [returning to Cabinet]; and

    • Ayesha Verrall [new Minister, first term MP].

  • New Labour Ministers outside of Cabinet include:

    • Hon Phil Twyford [demoted from Cabinet];

    • Hon Meka Whaitiri; and

    • Priyanca Radhakrishnan.

  • Hon Jenny Salesa is no longer a Minister, and will instead become Assistant Speaker.
  • Labour and the Greens formally signed a cooperation agreement on Sunday. The Agreement is a unique arrangement that:
    • requires the Greens to back the government line over decisions made in their portfolios but allows the Greens to make a Cabinet note where there is deviation from Green policy;
    • allows the Greens to take a different position to Labour in areas outside of their portfolios;
    • contains a commitment to work together on child poverty, climate change, and the environment;
    • requires the Greens not oppose Labour on confidence and supply matters;
    • makes Hon James Shaw the Minister of Climate Change and Associate Minister for the Environment with a focus on biodiversity. Shaw no longer holds the Statistics or Associate Finance portfolios; and
    • makes Marama Davidson the Minister for the Prevention of Family and Sexual Violence and Associate Minister of Housing with a focus on homelessness. Davidson will be a first time Minister.
  • The National Party has not yet announced its new Shadow Cabinet.  Caucus will hold a confidence vote for its leadership soon after the final election results are announced.
Read more:
Watching Brief
Talk to one of our experts:
Related Expertise