Blog Image


19 finalist placings ahead of pan-Asia Women in Business Law Awards 2021

Home Insights 19 finalist placings ahead of pan-Asia Women in Business Law Awards 2021

Published on:

Published on: July 30, 2021


(Above L-R: Emmeline Rushbrook, Liz Blythe, Polly Pope, Mei Fern Johnson, Allison Arthur-Young, Ling Yan Pang, Louise Taylor, Sarah McQueen, Deemple Budhia, Brigette Shone, Hannah Bain, Anna Crosbie, Marika Eastwick-Field, and Kylie Dunn).

Russell McVeagh's talented women lawyers have been highlighted as finalists alongside others throughout Asia ahead of this year's Euromoney Women in Business Law Awards Asia.
Overall, the firm is shortlisted for 19 awards including 17 practice area and Rising Star awards, and both firm awards - the 'Women in Business Law, National Firm' award and 'New Zealand Firm of the Year' award, which follows on from the firm winning the New Zealand Firm of the Year title at last year's awards.
The following Russell McVeagh lawyers have been shortlisted in their respective areas of expertise:

Allison Arthur-Young
  • Best in Energy, Natural Resources, Mining
  • Best in Environment
Mei Fern Johnson
  • Best in Corporate Governance
Deemple Budhia
  • Best in Debt Capital Markets
  • Best in Structured Finance and Securitisation
Marika Eastwick-Field
  • Best in Insurance and Reinsurance
Emmeline Rushbrook
  • Best in Financial Regulation
Sarah McQueen
  • Best in Investment Funds
Kylie Dunn
  • Best in Labour and Employment
Liz Blythe
  • Best in Privacy and Data Protection
  • Best in Technology, Media and Telecommunications
Anna Crosbie
  • Best in Real Estate
Polly Pope
  • Best in Restructuring and Insolvency
Louise Taylor
  • Rising Star - Corporate
Ling Yan Pang
  • Rising Star - Finance
Brigette Shone
  • Rising Star - IP
Hannah Bain
  • Rising Star - Litigation

"This well-deserved recognition for our top lawyers demonstrates the breadth and depth of talent across our full-service leading law firm. It is especially pleasing to see the continued growth in the number of finalist placings we received overall, up from 15 in 2020, and a reflection of our firm's ongoing focus on diversity and inclusion," Russell McVeagh CEO Jo Avenell said.
Last year, partners Liz Blythe and Deemple Budhia won the top awards in their practice areas (Best in Technology, Media and Telecommunications and Best in Structured Finance and Securitisation, respectively), alongside Russell McVeagh winning the overall 'New Zealand Firm of the Year' award.
The Women in Business Law Awards recognise leading women lawyers from across the region, with nominees judged on the complexity of their work as well as on their advocacy, influence, and thought leadership to promote women in the practice of law and within practice area specialisms. 
Winners for 2021 are due to be announced at a virtual ceremony on 15 September and we wish all our finalists, as well as the other lawyers named on the shortlist, the best of luck.

Talk to one of our experts:
Related Expertise