Blog Image


45 Russell McVeagh lawyers named New Zealand's Best Lawyers®

Home Insights 45 Russell McVeagh lawyers named New Zealand's Best Lawyers®

Published on:

Published on: April 21, 2023


45 of our talented lawyers have been recognised as New Zealand's most influential and effective lawyers by Best Lawyers® 2024 Guide, determined purely by peer review.

Three highly respected Russell McVeagh lawyers were awarded 'Lawyer of the Year' in their specialist areas - reflecting the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region, including partners Joe Windmeyer (Corporate Governance and Compliance Practice), Craig Shrive (in two areas - Public Law and Regulatory Practice), and special counsel Bevan Peachey (Banking and Finance Law).

Five of our lawyers were recognised for the first time in this year's Guide including partners Bradley Aburn (Competition and Consumer Law), Emma Peterson (recognised for both Insolvency and Reorganisation Law; and Litigation), Liz Blythe (Information Technology Law), Petra Carey (Regulatory Practice) and special counsel Nick Saxton (Construction Law).

This is the largest number of our lawyers featured in the Guide to date – up from 41 last year – and the full list includes:

CEO Jo Avenell says, "Our dedicated and hardworking team have produced fantastic results for our clients this year and we are delighted to see them being recognised by their peers. A special congratulations to Joe, Craig and Bevan for being named 'Lawyer of the Year' in their specialist areas, and to Bradley, Emma, Liz, Nick and Petra for being recognised for the first time."

You can learn more about these awards online here.