Blog Image


41 Russell McVeagh lawyers named New Zealand's Best Lawyers®

Home Insights 41 Russell McVeagh lawyers named New Zealand's Best Lawyers®

Published on:

Published on: April 14, 2022


(Above L-R: Bevan Peachey, Daniel Minhinnick, Mei Fern Johnson, Matthew Kersey, Deemple Budhia, John Powell and David Butler.)

41 of our talented lawyers have been recognised as New Zealand's most influential and effective lawyers by Best Lawyers® 2023 Guide, determined purely by peer review.

Seven highly respected Russell McVeagh lawyers were awarded 'Lawyer of the Year' in their specialist areas – reflecting the highest overall peer-feedback for a specific practice area and geographic region, including partners John Powell (Banking and Finance Law), Deemple Budhia (Structured Finance Law, for the second year in a row), Matthew Kersey (Insolvency and Reorganization Law), Mei Fern Johnson (Energy Law, who was also recognised for Corporate Law last year), Daniel Minhinnick (Planning Law), David Butler (Real Estate Law), and special counsel Bevan Peachey (Project Finance and Development Practice Law).

A number of our partners were recognised for the first time in the Guide including Greg Neill (Tax Law), Nathaniel Walker (Litigation, Insurance, Financial Institutions Law), Simon Pilkinton (Land Use and Zoning Law), and Jesse Fairley (Banking and Finance Law), and senior associate Ling Yan Pang recognised for Structured Finance Law.

Overall, 41 Russell McVeagh lawyers were recognised - the largest number featured in the Guide to date, including:

  • Joe Edwards (Advertising Law, Intellectual Property Law, Litigation, Media Law, Privacy and Data Security Law);

  • Joe Windmeyer (Capital Markets Law, Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law, Private Equity Law, Energy Law, Corporate Governance and Compliance Practice);

  • John Powell (Banking and Finance Law, Leveraged Buyouts);

  • Kirsten Massey (Insolvency and Reorganization Law);

  • Kylie Dunn (Litigation, Labour and Employment Law);

  • Ling Yan Pang (Structured Finance Law);

  • Malcolm Crotty (Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation, Labour and Employment Law); 

  • Marika Eastwick-Field (Litigation);

  • Matthew Kersey (Corporate Law, Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation);

  • Mei Fern Johnson (Corporate Law, Energy Law);

  • Michael Taylor (Arbitration and Mediation, Litigation);

  • Nathaniel Walker (Financial Institutions, Insurance Law, Litigation);

  • Pat Bowler (Consultant) (Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law, Oil and Gas Law);

  • Polly Pope (Insolvency and Reorganization Law, Litigation);

  • Simon Pilkinton (Land Use and Zoning Law);

  • Tim Clarke (Government Practice, Public Law);

  • Tom Hunt (Banking and Finance Law, Capital Markets Law, Derivatives);

  • Troy Pilkington (Competition and Consumer Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law, Litigation); and

  • Will Irving (Arbitration and Mediation, Litigation).


Russell McVeagh Board Chair Allison Arthur-Young commented, "We're delighted to receive this top feedback from our peers, reflecting our significant reputation within the New Zealand market and the breadth of our expertise."

CEO Jo Avenell says, "It's fantastic to see the efforts of our dedicated and hardworking team recognised across the firm, with 41 of our firm's lawyers named this year. A special congratulations to our seven lawyers named 'Lawyer of the Year' in their specialist areas, and those recognised for the first time."

Talk to one of our experts: