Blog Image

Russell McVeagh announces new Board Chair

Home Insights Russell McVeagh announces new Board Chair

Published on:

Published on: February 21, 2024


(Above L-R: David Butler, Liz Blythe, Tom Hunt, Marika Eastwick-Field, Ian Beaumont and Jo Avenell)

Russell McVeagh Real Estate and Construction partner and Board member David Butler has been elected as Russell McVeagh's new Board Chair.
David, who has been a Board member for the past two years and a partner since 2010, succeeds outgoing Board Chair and Environment, Planning and Natural Resources partner Allison Arthur-Young who has now completed her term after six years on the Board, and three as Chair. 
A partner in the firm's Real Estate and Construction group, David has built a reputation as one of New Zealand's leading real estate lawyers and has advised on some of the country's most significant and complex real estate deals and development projects. He joined the firm in 2000, spent time at Clifford Chance's London office, before rejoining the firm in 2009.
Technology & Digital Partner Liz Blythe has also been elected to the firm's Board. Liz joins current Board members, Ian Beaumont, Tom Hunt and Marika Eastwick-Field on the Board.
CEO Jo Avenell said, "The Board has shown outstanding leadership and dedication to supporting our people and clients throughout a period of significant change over the last few years, including throughout the pandemic. Under their leadership, we have focused on ensuring the firm is providing the best possible culture and experience for Russell McVeagh's people, achieving growth in a sustainable way, and delivering exceptional service to our clients. I want to thank Allison for her compassion and unwavering commitment to our firm.

David has an impressive reputation for leading successful teams, and his appointment to Board Chair will ensure consistency in leading a successful firm."
In accepting the appointment, David said, "I am privileged and humbled to be elected as Board Chair at Russell McVeagh. For over 160-years, our exceptionally talented lawyers and business professionals have delivered outstanding results for our clients. I look forward to building on the work we have done to create an inclusive workplace and culture which enables this legacy to continue."

Allison, who was recently recognised as New Zealand's Law Firm Leader of the Year 2023 at the New Zealand Law Awards in November, says she is incredibly proud of Russell McVeagh, and the progress the firm has made in so many important areas. 

"Serving as Board Chair of Russell McVeagh has been an honour. We have collectively continued to grow and focus on making real change across the areas our people and clients care about. The firm goes from strength to strength, and we have a talented team on the Board who are committed to continuing to take the firm forward."

Real Estate and Construction partner Ed Crook has also been re-elected as Chair of the Partnership.

For further information, please contact:
Joanna Comerford
[email protected]
D +64 4 819 7520

Read more:
Talk to one of our experts: